ism   (TUNDRA/New Focus Recordings)

Released in September 2016, Muncy's newest solo album features new works by Erin Gee (featuring percussionist Ross Karre), Morgan Krauss, Evan Johnson, and David Reminick, as well as a tribute to composer Lee Hyla and a resurrection of one of the instrument's forgotten masterpieces — James Tenney's Saxony

Ism is available at New Focus Recordings on a special edition SD card designed by Simon Arizpe, as well as digitally and on iTunes. Compact discs are available through Naxos Direct's print-on-demand.


ICE (International Contemporary Ensemble) releases a recording documenting its close and longstanding relationship with Brazilian-born composer Marcos Balter on its own in-house recording label, TUNDRA. This album features Muncy's first studio recording of Wicker Park — the first-ever collaboration between he and Balter — as well as Codex Seraphinianus for flute, soprano saxophone, bassoon, and viola, with Claire Chase, Rebekah Heller, and Nadia Sirota

Aesopica is available at New Focus Recordings and on iTunes. 

dystemporal: music of Anthony Cheung   (Wergo Records)

Released in June 2016, Dystemporal is the first portrait album of composer Anthony Cheung, with performances by Talea Ensemble directed by Jim Baker and Ensemble Intercontemporain directed by Susanna Mälkki. Available for download on Amazon, iTunes etc. and in physical copy here.

Balter / Saunier   (New AmsterDam records)

"Balter / Saunier" is the new collaborative album from Deerhoof ("the best band in the world" -Pitchfork) and Chicago-based contemporary music group Dal Niente ("a model of what contemporary music needs" -The Chicago Tribune). The album features Marcos Balter's "Meltdown Upshot" for combined ensemble as well as Greg Saunier's "Deerhoof Chamber Variations," which use the band's original songs as source material for a new suite of arrangements. Available on Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon.



"Muncy has built a substantial career around bolstering the saxophone repertoire, and [now] he unleashes the solo fuego with his debut album, Hot."  -Time Out Chicago

"On his dazzling solo debut, Hot, he continues to fight the good fight. It shows off the instrument's malleability and freakish extended range as well as its delicacy and refinement." -The Chicago Reader

"One of this year's most exciting albums" -Time Out New York


Released in October 2013 by New Focus Recordings featuring works by Chaya Czernowin, Georges Aperghis, Marcos Balter,  Anthony Cheung, Aaron Cassidy, as well as Franco Donatoni's masterpiece "Hot" with collaborators Nadia Sirota (viola), Claire Chase (flute), Ben Melsky (harp), and Ensemble Dal Niente

Find Hot at New Focus Recordings and on iTunes.

Without Words (Carrier Records)

Released by Carrier Records in February 2014, "Without Words" is the first portrait album of the New York-based composer Aaron Einbond and the full-length debut album of Ensemble Dal Niente. Crafted through long term collaboration, highly personalized instrumental writing and performance joins detailed electronic sound as colorful as it is ineffable. In addition to the title track, a large-scale work for solo soprano and large ensemble, the album features Einbond's "Break" for solo baritone saxophone and live electronics. Please visit the Carrier Records website to download the album.